An aviation researcher, writer, aviation participant, pilot & agricultural researcher. Author of over 35 scientific publications world wide.


Good reads

Oil Prices


2007 – Aviation Regulatory Review

The following was undertaken in 2007 [Final Report]:

The Aviation Regulation Review Taskforce (the Taskforce) was announced by the Hon Mark Vaile MP, then Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Transport and Regional Services, on 4 April 2007. The then Minister said he had established the
Taskforce to assist him and the Chief Executive Officer of the Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA), Mr Bruce Byron, set key directions and priorities for aviation regulatory reform for the next five years.

Dr Allan Hawke was appointed as Taskforce Chair. Initial membership comprised Mr Byron, Mr Rob Graham (aviation industry consultant), Mr Jeff Boyd (CEO, Brindabella Airlines) and Mr Dick Smith. Mr David Cox (QANTAS Executive General Manager, Engineering) was subsequently appointed to the Taskforce in July 2007.

The Taskforce’s Terms of Reference encompassed:

• Recommending the best practice safety regulatory model for Australia;
• Identifying priorities for the Government’s future regulatory reform programme, including:

o preparing a status report on progress of the regulatory reform programme to date;
o assessing whether the priorities and focus of the programme are currently adequate;
o reviewing the timeframe for completion of the regulatory reform programme, with the view to concluding the programme by the end of 2008; and
• Examining the consultation arrangements between industry and the Government’s aviation agencies and recommending improvements.
The Taskforce held monthly meetings between May and December 2007.

Officers of the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local
Government (the Department) provided secretariat services.